• Duration of the Exhibition30. August 2013 - 12. January 2014
  • VenueHamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
  • The project is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie and supported by BMW.

From 2013 on, the honour will no longer consist of a money award; but instead the winner shall receive a carefully designed solo show in one of the houses of the Nationalgalerie including a special catalogue. This solo show shall always take place in the year following the awarding of the prize.

The members of the Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie as well as around 100 European directors and curators of museums and art associations delivered proposals for the selection of the candidates of the Preis 2013 until July 31, 2012.

The nominees
Kerstin Brätsch, Mariana Castillo Deball, Simon Denny and Haris Epaminonda

The award recipient
Mariana Castillo Deball

Duration of the exhibition
August 30, 2013 – January 12, 2014

The first jury
Tobias Berger, curator at M+, Museum for Visual Arts, Hongkong

Ariane Beyn, director of the Visual Arts department of Berliner Künstlerprogramm/DAAD and director of the daadgalerie in Berlin-Mitte

Massimiliano Gioni, artistic director of the 55th Biennale di Venezia, artistic director of the Nicola Trussardi Foundation, Milan, and director of special exhibitions at the New Museum for Contemporary Art, New York

Anno Saul, film director for cinema and TV, Berlin, member of the board of Deutsche Filmakademie

Ina Weisse, actress, writer and film director, member of Deutsche Filmakademie

The second jury
Okwui Enwezor, Director, Haus der Kunst, München

Luis Pérez-Oramas, Estrellita Brodsky Curator of Latin American Art, MoMA, New York

Kitty Scott, Curator for Modern and Contemporary Art, Art Gallery of Ontario, Canada

Gabriele Knapstein, research associate at the Nationalgalerie and exhibition manager Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin

Udo Kittelmann, Director, Nationalgalerie, Berlin

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Filmkunst
in cooperation with Deutsche Filmakademie

The nominees
Tama Tobias-Macht: 2000m2 mit Garten // 40 Min.
Lior Shamriz: A low life mythology // 80 Min.
Leila Albayaty: Berlin Telegram // 80 Min.
Daria Belova: Komm und spiel // 30 Min.
Devin Horan: Late and deep // 17 Min.
Johanna Thalmann and Severin Winzenburg: Pleased to meet you // 85 Min.
Victor Orozco Ramirez: Reality 2.0 // 11 Min.

The prize recipient
Victor Orozco Ramirez; Reality 2.0 // 11 Min.