• ArtistAgan Harahap
  • TitleMardijker Photo Studio
  • Year of Origin2015
  • GenrePhotography
  • Technique and DimensionDigital C prints on paper, with frame, each 25 × 16 cm (15 Prints), 40 × 26 cm (10 Prints) or 60 × 40 cm (6 Prints)
  • Erwerbungsjahr2019

Agan Harahap, Mardijker Photo Studio, 2015 © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Thomas Bruns

Agan Harahap’s Mardijker Photo Studio presents quasi-historical narratives as a fictive collection of portraits depicting a community called the Mardijkers. The Mardijkers comprised of indigenous people from conquered Portuguese territories, as well as people of Portuguese ancestry. They were descendants of free slaves during the Portuguese colonial time, who settled down in major cities in the East Indies (present-day Indonesia), such as the port-city of Batavia (present-day Jakarta).

The word ‘Mardijker’ has a long story in Indonesian history. Originating from the Sanskrit word ‘Mahardika’ which means freedom, ‘Mardijker’ became popularized when the Dutch introduced the passenstelsel (identity cards) policy. With the enforcement of this policy, the Mardijkers were required to raise their hands and shout “Mardijkers!” as a status indicator. This policy later caused a divide between the Mardijkers and the pribumi (natives), resulting in a separation from the native identity, which grew to worsen during the Indonesian revolution. Hence, as people who were “liberated”, this made the Mardijkers’ existence and identity to become vague. They occupied an in-between status: despite adopting European religion and culture, they were classed with the natives by the colonial government.

Mardijker Photo Studio fabricates its own version of history by collaging and manipulating archival photographs from the Tropenmuseum’s archives, to portray European faces on ‘native’ bodies, and vice versa. The interchanging of native and European subjects destabilizes their identities, as well as their racial and social hierarchies.

This captured fluidity and instability of identities is a situation that the artists views as analogous to contemporary Indonesia’s negotiation with ‘global’ culture. In this series of arresting and enigmatic portraits, some subjects appear to adopt foreign dress and ways of life confidently, while others reveal their uncertainty or hesitation.

In today’s world where the use of modern technology can accelerate the spread of external cultures, it can also backfire onto local cultures. By adopting acculturation, the rapid flow of information can actually obscure the identity of the local culture. This is what then happens in modern society, especially in many Southeast Asian countries. As one of the biggest countries in the region, Indonesia looks onerously to maintain its own local cultural identity. Penetration of rapid culture and weak cultural filtration makes Indonesia become a market for other cultures. It also leads to the loss of their identity as a nation.

The images in Mardijker Photo Studio also comment on colonial photography, which often exoticized its subjects, as well as our expectations of the photographic image as ‘truth’ and ‘document’. The artist seeks to show how this historical bias could easily repeat itself in modern times. As we continue to develop as part of a global community, it will be increasingly difficult to determine the nations’ identity in the future. And it makes us no different than the Mardijkers who lost their real identity.

• Künstler/inAgan Harahap
  • TitelMardijker Photo Studio
  • Entstehungsjahr2015
  • GattungInstallation
  • Technik und AbmessungDigitale C-Prints auf Papier, gerahmt, je 25 × 16 cm (15 Prints), 40 × 26 cm (10 Prints) oder 60 × 40 cm (6 Prints)
  • Erwerbungsjahr2020
  • Die Erwerbung wurde ermöglicht durch den Stoberkreis der Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

Agan Harahap, Mardijker Photo Studio, 2015 © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Thomas Bruns

Agan Harahaps Mardijker Photo Studio präsentiert quasi-historische Narrative als eine fiktive Sammlung von Porträts, die eine Gemeinschaft namens Mardijker zeigen. Die Mardijker setzten sich aus der indigenen Bevölkerung der späteren portugiesischen Eroberungen sowie aus Menschen portugiesischer Abstammung zusammen. Sie waren Nachkommen freier Sklaven während der portugiesischen Kolonialzeit, die sich in größeren Städten Ostindiens – dem heutigen Indonesien – niederließen, wie beispielsweise in der Hafenstadt Batavia – dem heutigen Jakarta.

Das Wort ‚Mardijker‘ geht weit in die indonesische Geschichte zurück. Es stammt vom Sanskritwort ‚Mahardika‘ ab, das Freiheit bedeutet, und wurde populär, als die Niederländer die Politik der passenstelsel (Personalausweise) einführten. Mit der Durchsetzung dieser Politik wurde von den Mardijkern verlangt, die Hand zu heben und „Mardijkers!“ zur Angabe ihres politischen Status zu rufen. Diese Politik führte später zu einer Spaltung zwischen den Mardijkers und den Pribumi, der indigenen Bevölkerung, und einer damit einhergehenden Abgrenzung von der einheimischen Identität, die sich während der indonesischen Revolution noch verschlimmerte. Die Existenz und Identität der Mardijker als ‚befreite‘ Menschen wurde dadurch vage. Sie nahmen einen Zwischenstatus ein: Obwohl sie die europäische Religion und Kultur annahmen, wurden sie von der Kolonialregierung der indigenen Bevölkerung gleichgestellt.

Das Mardijker Photo Studio erschafft seine eigene Version der Geschichte, indem es Photographien aus den Archiven des Tropenmuseum collagiert und manipuliert, um europäische Gesichter auf ‚einheimischen‘ Körpern zu porträtieren und umgekehrt. Die Vertauschung von einheimischen und europäischen Subjekten destabilisiert deren Identität sowie ihre ethnischen und sozialen Hierarchien.

Die auf diese Weise eingefangene Fluidität und Instabilität der Identitäten ist eine Situation, die Agan Harahap als analog zur Verhandlung des zeitgenössischen Indonesiens mit der ‚globalen‘ Kultur betrachtet. In dieser Reihe von einnehmenden und zugleich rätselhaften Porträts scheinen einige Personen selbstbewusst fremde Kleidung und Lebensweisen anzunehmen, während andere Unsicherheit oder Zögern offenbaren.

In der heutigen Welt, in der der Einsatz moderner Technologie die Verbreitung externer Kulturen beschleunigen kann, kann dieser Prozess ebenso auf lokale Kulturen zurückschlagen. Durch Akkulturation und schnellen Informationsfluss können die Identität der lokalen Kultur verdeckt werden, wie es gerade zum Beispiel in vielen modernen südostasiatischen Gesellschaften geschieht. Als eines der größten Länder in der Region ist Indonesien bemüht, seine eigene lokale kulturelle Identität zu bewahren. Doch die rasche Durchdringung der Kultur und die schwache kulturelle Filterung machen Indonesien zu einem Markt für andere Kulturen und führen zum zunehmenden Verlust der nationalen Identität.

Die Bilder des Mardijker Photo Studio kommentieren nicht zuletzt auch die Kolonialphotographie in ihrer Tendenz, ihre Sujets zu exotisieren, sowie unsere Erwartungen an das photographische Bild als ‚Wahrheit‘ und ‚Dokument‘. Harahap weist damit auf die leichte Wiederholbarkeit historischer Voreingenommenheit in der Moderne hin. Während wir uns als Teil einer globalen Gemeinschaft weiterentwickeln, wird es in Zukunft immer schwieriger werden, nationale Identitäten zu bestimmen. Und das macht uns nicht anders als die Mardijker, die ihre wahre Identität verloren haben.

Text: Mizuma Gallery